Menu Home

5 Quick (Very Simple) Questions Managers Should Ask At Least Once a Week

Earlier this year I had a speaking engagement, and much to my chagrin, I wasn’t able to get any feedback.  That’s one of my pet peeves.  Lack of feedback.  As I assess days like that, unfortunately, I’m forced to fill in the blanks myself.  I have to re-create the good and bad that day and if I’m wrong, then the joke is on me!

So, today, I’m encouraging you to look in the mirror and ask one of the following questions.  Remember to use the real mirror.  Not the imaginary mirror that shows you exactly what you want to see.

If curiosity gets the best of you, ask your team members, colleagues, employees, associates, professionals, peers or anyone else who can help you make a reasonable judgment.

And speaking of judgment, don’t sit in judgment of whatever is said about your performance.  Take it with a smile and focus on improvement.  In other words, if you don’t want the answer, don’t ask the question.

At any rate, here are 5 Very Simple Questions Managers Should Ask At Least Once a Week

1)   Do I coach without discouraging?

In other words, when I coach my professionals, am I doing so in a positive manner?  Do I leave my people better than before?  That is – are they more motivated after our conversation than before?

2)   Does the way I spend my time match my priorities?

In other words, if my goal is to develop my people, am I spending enough time developing my people?  Yes, your tasks aren’t going to get done on their own but small changes help a great deal.

3)   Do I practice proactive or reactive management?

Am I meeting with my people regularly, or only when a problem appears?  Proactive management involves regularly scheduled one-to-one conversations.  Reactive management consists of putting out fires and endlessly chasing your tail around the room.

4)   Do I listen to my people?

When speaking with me, do my people feel like they’re the only person in the room?  Although I’m presenting all the attributes of active listening, am I actually hearing what the other person wants me to hear?  Am I reading emotions or only listening to their words?  Am I actually listening?

5)   Do I leave my people better than before?

Here’s the biggie!  Every interaction is a chance to leave your people better than beforeBetter able to sell than before.  Better able to meet the day’s challenges than before.  More confident than before.  Dealing with you should be a positive, not a negative.  Try to make it that way.

That’s just the way it works.

Categories: Saavy Managers

Tagged as:

darrylrosen2014

vjdfjfdfdjklsfadjkl

Leave a Reply

